top of page

TSA appoints rail members to transportation security committee

The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) has formed the Surface Transportation Security Advisory Committee, which will advise the agency on security issues related to rail and other modes of surface transportation. The committee's makeup includes representatives of freight and passenger railroads. Voting committee members will represent surface transportation providers and users, and nonvoting members represent federal departments and agencies with surface transportation oversight. "The knowledge and expertise these leaders bring to the table will play a vital role in TSA’s continued efforts to safeguard the nation’s surface transportation systems," said TSA Administrator David Pekoske in a press release. Freight-rail voting members on the committee are: • Thomas Farmer, assistant vice president of security at the Association of American Railroads; • Herschel Flowers, homeland security manager at Kansas City Southern Railway; • Edward Gelnar Jr., vice president of safety and compliance at the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association; • Greg Bretzing, vice president of global security, safety and corporate affairs at The Greenbrier Cos. Inc.; and • Donald Loftis, principle software engineer at Olin Corp. Voting members representing passenger-rail service include: • Lisa Ann Shahade, deputy chief of police for strategic operations at Amtrak; • Edward Bruce, director of intelligence, New Jersey Transit; • Robert Gatchell, chief safety and security officer of Brightline/Virgin Trains USA; • Polly Hanson, director of security, risk and emergency management at the American Public Transportation Association; • Ronald Pavlik Jr., chief of police at Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority; • Joe Perez, chief of police and security at Metra; • Jaime Becerra, chief of transit enforcement and deputy chief of safety and security at North County Transit District; and • Robert Finnegan, captain, police administration at Delaware River Port Authority. The committee will meet at least twice a year, with one meeting open to the public, TSA officials said.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page